Accommodation Guide in South Africa (Garden Route)

Hunting for accommodation is my favourite part of travel planning. I absolutely love hunting for places that are gorgeous yet value for money. Also, I like to mix up the types of accommodation on my travel, from B&Bs to apartments and backpackers or value for money boutique hotels. Friends have been asking me to provide more information on my trip to South Africa, so here’s a guide to where I stayed during my South African road trip, done up according to my itinerary. Before I begin, I would like to say that the hospitality I received throughout my stay was simply remarkable, probably the best I have experienced out of all my travels. Thank you South Africa for making my trip so wonderful. It was a blessing to have interacted with the people I met on my trip and I yearn to be back again.

Disclaimer: Do note that the prices I quote in SGD are what I paid for during my trip, per person, per night. Prices for accommodation are seasonal (and there might be promotions to take into account as well) and hence you should not rely entirely on my quotation. Please check with the respective hosts for their most current rates if you are planning a stay with them.

SIMON TOWN – DAY 1 (29/06)
Activities: Penguins (Boulder Beach), Simon Town

AQUATERRA B&B

Aquaterra is probably my favourite B&B. I’ve never ever stayed somewhere with such a million dollar view and I wish I stayed longer. The place is essential an apartment that has been converted to a B&B. The owner’s mum is the host and she’s a lovely lady that makes really awesome breakfast.

How much I paid:  SGD$61
(R995/$122 per room)

55243_386025608140837_420635167_o 680501_390702001006531_223212331_o622883_388391107904287_1699339189_o
photo credits to AquaTerra

HERMANUS – DAY 2 (30/06)
Activities: Whale-watching from land, diving with the sharks

HERMANUS BACKPACKERS

Staying at Hermanus Backpackers was an absolute steal. Being a backpackers, the rooms come in various types, from dorms to en-suite. Hermanus Backpackers offer a R100 discount on their accommodation for guest who opt for the shark cage diving trip so since we were going to do that, we booked the double en-suite. Like most backpackers, it is a vibrant place with people from all walks of lives. There is always something happening and I’m sure you won’t be bored there!

How much I paid (after discount): SGD$11
(R95 per pax)

533429_288580687899096_75157091_n imgp0008-1024x768 156145_288580971232401_2093657443_n
photo credits: Hermanus Backpackers

MOSSEL BAY – DAY 4 (2/07)
Activities: Game reserve, Mussels + Wine

LINKSIDE 2 GUESTHOUSE

This is another accommodation with a beautiful view and a carefully thought out interior design. Petra our host was  yet another lovely lady who was so kind to us. She was great a giving recommendations and we really wished we had more time for Mossel Bay.

How much I paid: SGD$43
(R700/SGD$86 per room)

1 3 23
photo credits: Linkside 2

KNYSA – DAY 6 (4/07)
Activities: Oyster Festival, Sightseeing (Lagoon)

BRIDGEWATER MANOR GUESTHOUSE

As you can tell, I have the tendency to pick accommodation with great view. Bridgewater Manor was no exception. The view from our room overlooked the Knysa lake. Pat was our host at Bridgewater Manor and she went all out helping us make bookings for our cheetah walk and making sure we get it. The hospitality was just impeccable. Not to mention, our breakfast was stupendous (never thought I would use that word, but yes, stupendous.)

How much I paid: SGD$52
(R840/SGD103 per room)

bridgewater-manor-bridgewater-manor-view-021 bridgewater-manor-bridgewater-manor-room-1-023 bridgewater-manor-picture-239
photo credits: Bridgewater Manor

TSITSIKAMMA – DAY 7 (5/07)
Activities: Tenikwa, Tsitsikamma Forest/National, Bungy

AT THE WOODS GUESTHOUSE

This guesthouse is situated within storms river and it almost makes you feel like you’re part of nature. The lovely couple who owns this guesthouse actually built it on their own and the end product is a prize winner.

How much I paid: SGD55
(R900/SGD110 per room)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
at-the-woods-external-swimming-pool.preview
photo credits: At the Woods Guest House

GRAAF – REINET – DAY 9 (7/07)
Activities: Valley of Desolation, Addo Elephant National Park (slight detour but on the way)

QUEEN MANOR BOUTIQUE GUESTHOUSE

Graaf-reinet was a tricky one but we eventually settled for this accommodation and had no regrets! It was a HUGE room for the price we paid, and yet again, we woke up to a fantastic view.

How much I paid: SGD$43
(R700/SGD$86 per room)

Photos of Queen Manor Boutique Guest House, Graaff-Reinet
This photo of Queen Manor Boutique Guest House is courtesy of TripAdvisor
1333178033_341681772_1-Pictures-of--Queen-Manor-Boutique-Guest-House queenmanorboutiqueguesthouse_1_1
photo credits: Queen Manor Boutique Hotel

OUDTSHOORN – DAY 10 (8/07)
Activities: Ostrich & Cango Caves

DIE FONTEINE GUESTHOUSE

Die Fonteine was slightly out of Oudtshoorn town but we didn’t mind as we were planning to head to the Cango caves nearby. Die Fonteine is much adored for its seclusion as it is a serene little cottage in the middle of nature. It’s nice and quiet and the rooms were cosy and thoughtfully decorated to make us feel at home. The breakfast served was also a treat and the owner’s friendly dog couldn’t agree more!

How much I paid:  SGD$43
(R700/SGD$86 per room)

43413
1 (1)
die-fonteine
photo credits: Die Fonteine Guest House

CAPE TOWN – DAY 11 (09/07)
Activities: Robben Island, Table Mountain, Long Street etc…

ADDERLEY HOTEL

Last and final stop for our South Africa trip we wanted somewhere comfortable after driving around for close to 2 weeks. We were going to stay in Cape Town for another 4 nights so we didn’t want somewhere too expensive as well. Adderley Hotel was hidden gem. Not only was it cheap for a hotel, the amenities it provided were so valued for money. The room was big and it came with a kitchen so we could cook. The interior was without a doubt very idealistic for me as it was clean and minimalistic.

How much I paid: SGD32
(R520/SGD64 per room)

Adderley-Hotel-pool
Adderley-Hotel-Junior-suite
Adderley-Hotel-bar
photo credit: Adderley Hotel

I know that most of the pictures here are taken off their website but having stayed at each of the accommodation, I can vouch that they are as accurate as can be. Hope that this list of accommodation will be of great help to your next road trip on the Garden Route, or even just a visit to any of the above towns. I wish you all a pleasant trip and I hope you enjoy your stay in South Africa as much as I did, if not more.

Peace & Love,

Eileen x

4 thoughts on “Accommodation Guide in South Africa (Garden Route)

Peregrinate with me

