What I REALLY Achieved in 2013

large_902817172photo credit: jonrawlinson via photopin cc

It’s the last day of 2013 and here I am, sharing my moment of self-reflection. After 2012, I really thought that it would be hard to top it considering the places I visited and milestones I achieved. I freaking graduated from law school. Went to NYC for the first time ever. Had my summer vacay in Greece. Traveled solo in Prague – and so on. How could I have possibly top that? Well, I did.

At the beginning of this year, I ushered 2013 with the weirdest countdown at Shibuya junction. It was seriously weird. Everyone was somehow waiting for something to happen. People cheering here and there. It was PACKED. Next thing I knew, my friend went ‘dude it’s like 12.10am’ – WHAT?!

It was barely 6 months since I returned home after staying abroad for 4 years and I braced myself to face reality. Getting bogged down by work and responsibility means I wouldn’t get to travel as much, right? To prevent myself from getting bored out of my wits, I started to explore my own city – yes I’m restless like that. Being away for 4 years, Singapore has grown so much. Thanks to my art loving boss, I began visiting galleries after galleries (which I never knew existed). I started watching plays (because musicals are so god damn expensive in this country) and attending events, trying new restaurants/café – basically just keeping myself entertained. I began to realise how vibrant my own country is! I was stupidly close-minded about this little red dot (because I think I grew up here and therefore I knew it well), like majority of the society who only want to ‘get out of this place whenever they can.

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Closephoto credit: matt.hintsa via photopin cc

It is so unrealistic to hinge on the dream of traveling and escaping. That’s what I realised since I came home. The problem didn’t lie with me being too busy, too poor or too whatever. It was with my attitude. I thought that these were vital to my happiness but I was so WRONG.  I found the power of having a strong positive attitude and a zest for life through the amazing people I’ve met along the way (and I’m truly thankful!). No matter how busy, how poor, how whatever other excuses, if you really want something so bad, and I mean SO BAD, you will make it happen. The trick is to having a positive attitude and believing that it will happen. When I started ‘peregrinate with me‘, it wasn’t just about traveling I wanted to promote. I wanted to influence the way people view life. When you have a zest for life and a positive attitude, you’re unstoppable. In 2013 alone, I reached out of my comfort zone, I climbed mountains, I dived the ocean, I jumped out of a plane, I made new friends, I made a difference however small it may be when I volunteered and I am truly happy with where I am in life.

Seriously, how many of you can say that you’re truly happy? Singaporeans were polled the unhappiest people on this planet – GEEZ! (Read it here) Most either wish that they were richer, or been to more places in the world, didn’t have to work such long hours, have more friends on Facebook – I don’t know what people wish for these days. (Read Daniel Wong’s Article on ‘How to be an Unhappy Singaporean‘) It is so hard to find contentment and happiness because we constantly want more and more. We feel so entitled that when we don’t get what we want, we get upset, we get angry. But why? Are we THAT entitled?

What  I really achieved in 2013 is discovering this zest for life and possessing this positive attitude throughout. My year was better not solely because of the things I did but my change in attitude that led to the awesome achievements.

origin_8179518917photo credit: h.koppdelaney via photopin cc

If your 2013 sucked balls, you shouldn’t be having stuff like “get a promotion, visit a new country, eat more salad” in your New Year’s Resolution. Instead, consider the following:

STOP:

1. STOP FEELING ENTITLED

2. STOP COMPARING

3. STOP COMPLAINING

BE:

4. BE POSITIVE

5. BE APPRECIATIVE

6. BE HUMBLE

7. BE KIND

8. BE RESPECTFUL

MORE IMPORTANTLY:

9. LOVE YOURSELF & YOUR OWN BODY

10. LIVE LIFE BECAUSE YOU LOVE LIFE

I wish you all a Happy 2014 ahead. 🙂

 

Peace & Love,

Eileen x

4 thoughts on “What I REALLY Achieved in 2013

Peregrinate with me

