Review: Hotel Clover – A Hidden Vintage Gem (literally)

Simplicity in Luxury – Hotel Clover.

Just recently, I’ve had the opportunity to be hosted by Hotel Clover and I must say, I’m pretty charmed by this hidden vintage gem. The minute I stepped into the hotel, I’m greeted with a rustic feel. All around the hotel lie pieces that dictates what used to be there. From a gramophone to an old school sewing machine, a bell telephone to a chair that used to sit in a barber shop.

DSC_0172

“Reception/Waiting Area”

DSC_0176

“An Old Telephone”

DSC_0178

“Reception Area – iMac available for Hotel Guest”

DSC_0180

“An Old Gramophone”

DSC_0181

“More Vintage Pieces”

 

Personal Experience

Hotel Clover 769 North Bridge Road comes with 4 different types of room including the: CLOVER SELECT, CLOVER PLUSH, CLOVER EXECUTIVE and CLOVER LAVISH.

Clover Select Queen

“Clover Select Room – s$320++ (Ground Floor Rooms w no windows)”

Clover Plush King

“Clover Plush Room – S$360++ (Second Floor, Queen Sized Bed)”
The Clover Executive is similar featuring King-sized bed priced at S$400++

Clover Lavish Suite

“Clover Lavish – S$600++ (Suite featuring Outdoor Jacuzzi)”

I was offered a stay in the plush room and I was drawn to the furniture and decorative items the moment I stepped inside. What I really like about room was the attention to details. The room came prepped with a selection of drinks – coffee, tea and water (I’ve stayed in some luxury hotels which doesn’t even provide kettles!). There is also an independent local guide (DOTSG) to help you pick out your next attraction or the hipster joints in Singapore. The room I stayed in had a window and the tea set is places strategically by the window with tatami mats for you to chillax while you people watch from your hotel room. I was told that the design of the room and the furniture were made specially for Hotel Clover 769 North Bridge Road.

DSC_0134

“Reflection of my room from the wall mirror”

DSC_0124

“DOTSG & Complimentary Water”

DSC_0120

“Tatami chilling area equipped with hot beverages”

DSC_0126

“A rustic lamp in the corner of the room”

DSC_0131

“Furniture designed for Hotel Clover (I love the hanging lamp!)”

The bathroom wasn’t very big but the clear glass doors made it look more open. I guess it can be quite romantic if you’re sharing the room with your partner (wink wink). I love rain showers and I was so happy the showers came with it. Also, as mentioned above, the attention to details is pretty commendable even in the toilet. The toiletries are complete with sewing kit! And the towels are placed in nice little cute baskets that matches the rest of the room.

DSC_0117

“Shower cubicle”

DSC_0137

“Toiletries set”

DSC_0139

“A basket of towel”

The stay came with breakfast and I really like how the rustic/vintage decor extends to the dining area. Breakfast comes with a choice of Eastern or Western. I went with Western. Overall, I do think that there can be more variety on the breakfast table.

DSC_0144

“The dining area”

DSC_0168

“The breakfast spread”

DSC_0169

“The Western option”

I did a tour around the building and found more interesting decorative pieces. What I also appreciated was the little quotes found on the walls of the hotel. The quotes certainly enhanced the wanderlust spirit. There is also a cosy courtyard for guest to mingle and hang out. Oh, WIFI is also available throughout the building.

DSC_0142

“Er hu (Chinese instrument) as a wall decoration”

DSC_0147

“Old school posters around the hotel”

Courtyard

“The Courtyard”

DSC_0148

“Wanderlust quote”

DSC_0153

“Wanderlust quote”

The Location

Address: Hotel Clover (769 North Bridge Road)
769 North Bridge Road, Singapore 198737
Main: (+65) 6340 1860 | Fax: (+65) 6340 1869

Hotel Clover 769 North Bridge Road is located in the middle of the Kampong Glam district. The area is bustling with hippy cafes, boutique shops and plenty of Mediterranean Cuisine and of course awesome Malay Cuisine. My favourite murtabak is in the area as well (it’s a battle between Zam Zam and Victory). Anyway, this is an area where you certainly wouldn’t get bored in. Hotel Clover 769 North Bridge Road is strategically located such that you’re well within the area but away from the noise!

HOW TO GET THERE:

By MRT: Bugis Station within 10 mins. walking distance to Jalan Sultan direction
By Taxi: About 20-25 mins. from Changi Airport
By Airport Shuttle Bus: Please enquire at Changi Airport Terminal 1/2/3 counters

Do visit their website if you want to find out more or make reservations!

http://hotelclover.com/reservations/

or call +65 6340 1860

Overall Ratings

Rooms – 4/5 ;  Service – 4/5 ;  Location – 4.5/5 ;  Value – 3/5

Bonus:

Before I end my review, I want to give a special shout out to their new Hotel – Hotel Clover The Arts, which is absolutely gorgeous. I’ll let the pictures do the talking!

IMG_1795

“Exterior for Hotel Clover The Arts”

ceno2

“Room 1”

IMG_1493

“Room 2”

IMG_1280

“Room 3”

Do check out their Arts-themed boutique hotel!

Thank you Hotel Clover again for the stay. 🙂

Peace & Love,

Eileen x

 

Peregrinate with me

